We are really settling in to and enjoying our new home. One of the first things I did when I got a little free time was to try out my new bike route. I loved my bike route up in Hollywood. It was 16mi long and took me along the ocean, past mangroves, and near some amazing wildlife. My new bike path is close to 20mi long and is exciting in all new ways, which I am still discovering! After I leave my apt building, I travel a few blocks to a massive bridge, called the Rickenbacker causeway, which traverses Biscayne Bay to two islands, Virginian Key followed by Key Biscayne. This bridge is serious. You can see it in the photos below which was taken from my apartment balcony.  It takes me quite a while to climb (completely in a wide bike lane, FYI) and I am totally out of breath by the time I reach the top, but the ride down is so instantly gratifying!  I coast down at speeds of up to 28mph!

This is the view of Brickell and the South part of downtown Miami from the top of the bridge.  The smaller, yellow building toward the front and center is mine.

After getting over the bridge, I travel to a state park at the end of Key Biscayne, called Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park, turn around and make the trek back home.  This path takes me past miles of beach, the University of Miami’s Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science,  the National Marine Fisheries Service Southeast Fisheries Science Center, a NOAA office, Miami Seaquarium, and through miles of mangroves to the village of Key Biscayne via a nice, wide bike path.  Lots of interesting thing to see!

 

Happy Thursday, everyone!

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

Leave a Reply

