I started my new job Dec. 12th, the Monday after graduation.  And I had actually started writing a grant for my new position before I graduated.  So basically, I had an overlap in between the end of grad school and the beginning of my new job.  This was great because it gave me  jump start in my new lab and guaranteed me a continuous paycheck.  And I am acutely aware that I am lucky to have a job lined up at all.  Although, I will admit, I think I could’ve used a tiny buffer period.

 

Starting a new job in December is tricky.  You don’t really have any vacation days available, and you don’t really want to start off a new job taking vacation anyhow, but everyone wants a few days off for the holidays (and my brain needed it).  The place I work is closed very few days since it is not as strictly tied to the university’s semesterly schedule, so I was sure I would get no break.  As it turned out, everyone in the lab was taking vacation, and since I am still in the “watching and learning” phase and not the “touching anything” phase, I was able to spend a week working from home.  I got a lot done but was still able to recharge my battery like I needed.  Yay!

 

Hope everyone had a nice holiday!  Happy new year!

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

2 responses »

  1. Dave (conquerer of worlds) says:

    Happy New Year!!!!

  2. marianne says:

    SICB… working vacation?

Leave a Reply

