For the past few years I have been driving a lovely green 2006 Ford Escape.  Love it.  But, I’m tired of the crappy gas mileage.  Don’t get me wrong, its much better than other, larger SUVs and its helped me lug my experiment crap all over the place, but…….it is time for a change, I think.

My front runners are the remaining three cars pictures below: the Honda Insight, Toyota Prius, and Ford Fiesta (all of which come in snappy, bright colors!).

Insight

Prius

Fiesta

I’ve done a bit of reading on these cars and here is what I have gathered….  The Prius is the most expensive but is best in terms of gas mileage (51/48) and interior space.  The Insight is a little less expensive than the Prius but doesn’t quite measure up on most of the categories, including gas mileage (40/43).  The Fiesta is the cheapest of the 3 (meaning I might be able to afford some upgrades), and has the worst gas mileage (29/40) although still not bad.

Does anyone have opinions on these cars?  My ears are open.  🙂

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

3 responses »

  1. William Meredith says:

    You buy a lot of gas for the price of a new vehicle. If your old vehicle is in good running condition and has good tires, keep it.

  2. Tricia says:

    Yeah, there are pro’s and con’s to all of them. I am sort of partial to Hondas but the Prius is really tempting me with the 50mpg. The best gas mileage I got on the Escape was 25mpg highway….not bad….but its closer to 20mpg city.

  3. I had a mechanic friend of mine say once that cars are meant to do two things: Get you from point A to B and break down down; And hopefully it does more of the first than the second. That being said, I’d go with the Honda or Toyota, but realize that when they break down (and they will) the parts are going to be that much more expensive than the Ford because of their foreign nature.

    Just out of curiosity how was the gas mileage on the Escape?

Leave a Reply

