I finally am feeling like I have fully recovered from the annual Joint Meeting of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists!  Its a meeting of 4-5 different geek societies, mine being American Elasmobranch Society.  This year, we all met in Providence, RI for meetings, talks, poster presentations, banquets, socials, networking, raising money, and hanging with friends.  This year was my last as the chair of the Student Affairs Committee (SAC)…thank goodness!!  Its a tough job…. my main responsibilities were to organize a student business meeting, student social, and give the SAC report on what our committee did all year at several other meetings.  I also presented a poster on my newest research and competed for a research award.  Overall, everything went smoothly and the meeting was a huge success and super fun!!  See……

Postering

At the opening reception at the Providence zoo (not a real camel)

Lab dinner

Hanging with friends in the evening

Here’s a snapshot of the social I put together…. we had >100 people attend!!

The last night of the meeting is our AES banquet.  This year I was lucky enough to win the AES student research award!  The president of AES, Ken Goldman, is to my left and the chair of the grant committee, Dean Grubbs, is to my right. (Photo: MDP)

Kajiura lab  #1! (Photo: MDP)

Here are the members of the 2010 SAC celebrating our successful meeting (Photo: MDP)

Proud Steve with Chris, who won another research award, and I (Photo: MDP)

Steve and I with our hero, Eugenie Clark.  One of my committee members calls me the “shark lady” after  her.  One day I might  live up to that!

My favorite part of the banquet….dance time!

The American Elasmobranch Society!!!  I am way way way in the back standing on a chair…..and if you zoom in you will see 3 of us have mustaches.  🙂

(Photo: MDP)

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

4 responses »

  1. Tricia says:

    Wendy has moved to India a week or two ago….just to do it for a year! Pretty awesome! She is blogging her adventures here: http://myindianlove.com/

    Also, to see larger versions of my pictures, just click on them!

  2. mom says:

    why is Wendy in India? when did she go?
    i don’t know how to ‘zoom’ on your blog pics
    help!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Tricia says:

    Thanks, chica! Seems we have similar fashion taste. Its probably a good thing we don’t get the opportunity to shop[ together more. I am reading your blog everyday! Sounds like you are soaking up every experience in India! Now let me just round up some money and come visit!!!

  4. MDG says:

    Hey! I almost bought those white American Eagle shoes you got on! See the person who arrived from Madras, Tamil Nadu? That’s me! Anyways, it looks like you had a great time and congrats and setting it all up! Your awesome my love!

Leave a Reply

