Just got back from AChemS!  The meeting was great!  Even though I was flying solo (only person from my lab and university to attend) I met lots of nice, very smart people.  The poster session went exceptionally well!  I got a ton of helpful feedback from the experts in the field.  All in all, I’d say this was one of the most productive meetings I have ever attended!

Sadly, I did not take any photos while I was there…. too preoccupied, I guess.  So here are some pictures of a family visit…

Mom and this little crazy came to hang out with Dave and I not too long ago.

We spent most of our time at the beach

It was pretty windy while they were here.  When we went for a walk, we found all kinds of fun creatures!

Choppy!

The beach was littered crazy stuff.

These guys are relatives of jellyfish, called by-the-wind sailors.  Their little sails help catch the wind so they can be transported around the ocean, but on a day where the wind is blowing toward shore….guess where they end up!

Portuguese man-o-war.  These guys have long tentacles that drift behind them that deliver a nasty sting.

But they are pretty cool looking…

And lastly we have the violet snail.  These guys make a little bubble raft that they float on.  I read that they are predators of the by-the-way sailors.

Bubble raft!

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

2 responses »

  1. Tricia says:

    Thanks and thanks, Erin! Yeah, changing from marine bio to optometry = major sell out!!! Kidding. I had a dream my eyes were bleeding….made me think of you when we went diving…

  2. Erin says:

    Hey!
    I’m so glad your meeting went well! I know it’s crazy to present a poster, so I’m sure it went awesome! I know I’m one of those “sell outs” who endorse human experiments, and I’m sorry! I think your research is super amazing and intersesting and I love it! I’m sure you can find some awesome study animals on the west coast, so come out! ;op Luv and miss ya heaps!!

    E

    PS, pics are phenomenal BTW!!!

Leave a Reply

