Right now I am in cold cold cold cold cooooooooooooold Denver, Colorado!  Its is 7 degrees F now and will get down to -3 tomorrow night!  My Florida blood is not used to such weather!  Anyhow, I am here to work on my research with a fish nose expert at the University of Colorado Denver Anschutz Medical Campus.  Last time I was out here in CO, I dropped off some stingray brains with her.  In the mean time she has labeled a few of the them with a fluorescent dye that over time traces neuron pathways in the brain.  This allows us to see how things are connected, especially in the smelling centers of the brain.

The first hurdle was to see if these dyes would even work in stingray brains since no one has ever tried it before. And……. Success!  The images below show some glowing red cells from the nose that transmit smell info to the olfactory bulb of the brain.  The second image shows green glowing neurons that form clusters in the olfactory bulb of the brain.  What does it mean?  Well, I don’t know yet, but I have all week to find out!  Hope everyone stays warm and has an interesting week.  🙂

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

Leave a Reply

