Its that time of year again!  Next Tuesday I am heading to Portland, OR for the annual Joint Meeting of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists.  This year I am presenting a poster (same one I presented at my April meeting) and hoping for a smooth meeting since its my first as the chair of the Student Affairs Committee for the American Elasmobranch Society.  For this role, I have all kinds of fun, new responsibilities: present an SAC report at the Exectutive Committe meeting, Board of Directors meeting, and Business meeting; organize a student social; organize and run a student business meeting; and generally make sure things don’t go up in flames.  I’m crossing my fingers.  Big time.  🙂  I am excited because the SAC has accomplished so much this year and I get to brag about it to the AES!!  Also, I heard Portland is an awesome city.  I hope I get out of the hotel once or twice to enjoy it!  During our conference is the annual Oregon Brew Fest being held literally a few blocks from our hotel.  Hahahaa!

In other news, Wendy has been here for a week and change and has decided that we had so many adventures in that small amount of time that she should depart to go hiking in the new england area for the rest of the month.  So yesterday she headed out.  😦

This weekend I am heading to Key West with Dave for two days to celebrate his bday.  Should be fun!  For now, I’m off to get a haircut.  Gotta look good for the meeting!  🙂  Have a good weekend, everyone!!

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

One response »

  1. mom says:

    hope all goes well in Portland. knock them dead with your beauty, wit, and awesome genes (all from your mom of course)
    love mom

Leave a Reply

