This past weekend I headed over to Sarasota to attend the AChemS meeting of taste and smell researchers.  The drive out across Alligator Alley is pretty scenic in some spots…

4-26-09-006

Turkey vulture cruising around over some sawgrass

4-26-09-001

Evergladey

Once I got over to the west side, I met up with some friends from USF (Jayne, Kyle, and Dan) to take in the meeting’s activities and some non-meeting activities as well…

4-26-09-011

Thursday evening was my 4 HOUR poster session.  It went well – talked to lots and lots of smart people.  Most researchers at the meeting work on mice and rats as mammalian models, so it took a little work to find common ground; but I did learn about the astounding range of new techniques available to me in my future research.

4-26-09-012

I did find some time to head to the ocean as well.  Siesta Key has an absolutely gorgeous beach!

4-26-09-020

4-26-09-030

After the beach, Dave and I went canoeing.  We saw an osprey and some pretty cool mangrove roots covered in white barnacles.

4-26-09-043

4-26-09-036

4-26-09-037

Hope everyone else had a fun weekend too!

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

3 responses »

  1. Tricia says:

    you are so weird. 🙂

    btw, i need you to sign a release form saying i get 100% of profits you gain from your new found fame. also, do you know a lawyer who could help me draw that up?

  2. Dave says:

    I made the blog, so I guess that means I’m famous!

    Things are gonna start happenning to me now!

  3. mom says:

    nice poster big sized. when you showed me here, it was on the computer so it was hard to read
    love ya

Leave a Reply

