Lots of stuff going on lately….

Biology Halloween party 08 was a success!  I went as Margot Tenenbaum from the movie The Royal Tenenbaums.  If you haven’t seen it, you’re missing out.  As you might have guessed, about 10 people knew what my costume was, but I didn’t mind.   😛

royaltenenbaums

Morgan’s bday was the 2nd, so we went to Key Largo to kayak and snorkel around in the mangroves.  Gorgeous day, but the water was chilly.  Later that evening, we went to a great Greek restaurant in Ft. Lauderdale called Taverna Opa.

As far as school goes, I am working on my proposal right now.  Its one of the many hoops I will have to jump through on my way to PhD-land.  It consists of a long, boring paper about what I plan to do for my dissertation project (even though I have already carried out at least 1/3 of the experiments) and a presentation in front of the department and my committee where people are free to rip me apart.  Sounds fun, doesn’t it!?!?  My committee has my paper right now and is hopefully editting it….. but are probably actually letting it lay under a stack of papers on their desks.  The presentation will be sometime in December.

Mom, Bai, and Mal are coming to visit this weekend.  Can’t wait!

Onto the pictures…  WARNING: Some Most of these costumes are offensive and disturbing!!  >:-)

halloween-08-003

Margot Tenenbaum.  Note the scowl and prosthetic finger.

P.S. – I have noticed lots of people searching for Margot costumes.  I am willing to sell this one (dress, finger, and barrett), so contact me if you’re interested!

P.P.S. – The costume has been sold.  Sorry!

halloween-08-007

Margot and Gov. Palin

halloween-08-0081

Margot and sexy suicide bomber

halloween-08-035

P. Diddy and D. woods.  Take her back Diddy, please!

halloween-08-034

Juno and Pauley Bleaker

halloween-08-014

Pat and Margot

halloween-08-022

Gov. Palin getting cozy with Michelle Obama.  I think they may have cast the same vote today by the looks of it.  😉

halloween-08-040

French engineers in various bloody clothes

halloween-08-017

Pablo better snuggle up or he’s getting deported!

halloween-08-042

Frenchies and Margot

Onto bday festivities…

11-02-08-004

Morgan looking like my conjoined twin

11-02-08-042

Our mighty vessel

11-02-08-023

The water was freeeeeeeeeeeezing!

11-02-08-028b

Mangroves are a good place to hide

11-02-08-0091

This is what’s under the water

11-02-08-0101

These are what the submerged roots of mangroves look like.  They are covered in sponges, algae, hydroids, and other junk.

11-02-08-0181

Blue sponge on mangrove roots.

11-02-08-0441

11-02-08-0451

Wish i was a fish!

Here’s Opa!

11-02-08-090

11-02-08-063

11-02-08-105

11-02-08-070

Dancing on the tables

11-02-08-072

Of course you have to get your friends up there!

11-02-08-093

11-02-08-111

Its what we do.

Oh, one last thing. WAY TO GO, OBAMA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now I guess I won’t have to emmigrate to France.

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

5 responses »

  1. Tricia says:

    Nope. Sold it last year. Sorry!

  2. Jasmin says:

    Do you still have the dress?

  3. Tricia says:

    it is a le tigre striped polo dress that I bought online from jc penney. i doubt they still have it, but thats what I got from a “striped polo dress” google search. are you being margot!? 🙂

  4. Andrea says:

    Where did you find your Margot Tenenbaum dress?

  5. Tricia says:

    nice pics, i might go to france myself since election didn’t go my way
    love mom

Leave a Reply

