I am finally back home after a super successful meeting in Montreal, vacation in Hilton Head with the family, and a brief stint in Savannah to visit Robert and Tony. Let’s start with Montreal….

What a great city! I was there for the Joint Meeting of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists for 1 week and MAN was it exhausting! I am taking over as the chair of the Student Affairs Committee for my society so as my first assignment, I got to sit in on the Board of Director’s meetings. It was super interesting to see the inner-workings of the society. I definitely have a greater appreciation for the what goes into pulling off a meeting, maintaining members, and making a little money for student funding. The second day of the meeting, I gave my first talk. Sadly, the remote I was using started going haywire mid-presentation (the remote in the next room was on the same frequency), but in spite of the evil remote, my talk went awesome! Consider that flaming hoop jumped through! The next day, I put on a student workshop entitled “Is Graduate School Enough?”. We had about 60ish people attend and the speakers were amazing!

Here are a couple of banquet pictures…

Ok, enough about the meeting…

Next I met some family in Hilton Head Island, SC for our yearly vacation. About 16 or so of us get together in a big beach house and catch up for a week every year…. it is great! Here are some highlights.

Cute kids! 3 babies is a lot though…

Fun family time.

A serious hair cut with Mal… I lost 9 inches!

And a shark fishing trip! We (Mal, Matthew, and dad) caught some baby Atlantic sharpnose sharks. Cute cute cute! We let them all go, of course!

The last day of vacation, we hung out with some friends in Savannah for some night time activities. Good times all around! I think I need a vacation from my vacation.

And thanks to everyone for their support through this adventure!!

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

4 responses »

  1. Mal says:

    thanks for that extra nice picture of me spazzing with the sharks. Also, please note the INTESTINES on dad’s shark. haha ANnnnnnd, that picture of Lauryn and Mia is my favorite of all time.

  2. Johanna says:

    Congrats on winning the Nelson award, Tricia!!!

  3. veggiewendy says:

    Yeah! I was hoping for some new posts and my hopes were fulfilled! Great pics and I’m so proud of you!! You are so smart and bee-u-tiful to boot!! Congrats on winning the award and presenting awesome speeches! love you!!

  4. don says:

    im glad u had a great time glad u made home safe

Leave a Reply

