A couple of days ago, I went to Long Key with my labmate, Laura, to collect some yellow spotted stingrays for my research. Collecting animals is always an adventure. You never know what you’re going to see! We ended up catching 3 rays, which was fantastic, and seeing lots of other crazy creatures. My favorite by far was the manatee that swam right up to us! This guy was about 7 ft. long and super curious.

Here are some of the other critters….

Swimming with a school of baitfish

Stone crab

Crab

The biggest hermit crab I have ever seen!! His shell was about 1 ft. long!

Yellow spotted stingray – super super pregnant (look at that belly!)

Black grouper & mangrove snapper

spiny lobster

Spiny lobster

Puffer fish with a teeny remora

Colonial tunicate (sea squirt)

Anemone

Gorgonian (soft coral) with its polyps out

About Tricia

I am a science geek who loves traveling and anything to do with the ocean!

2 responses »

  1. don says:

    pretty cool

  2. veggiewendy says:

    I LOVE IT!!!! 😀 Finally I get to see all your beautiful pictures and share your experiences!! Can’t wait to see more! -Wendy

Leave a Reply

